NHL DRAFT

Hey everyone!

First and foremost, let me just say the Colorado Avalanche made me mad this week during the draft. They traded Ryan O’Reilly and Jamie McGinn to the Buffalo Sabres. Really Colorado? Really? But I’m willing to give the newest players a chance to see what they can do.

Since I got that off my chest, let’s talk about the top three picks. The first pick went to the Edmonton Oilers, the second to the Buffalo Sabres, and the third to the Arizona Coyotes. Edmonton selected Connor McDavid, the Sabres chose Jack Eichel, and Arizona chose Dylan Strome.

Connor McDavid is a center from Canada. He played his junior career with the Erie Otters winning multiple awards. He was also a part of Team Canada’s World Juniors Team, where he won a gold medal.

Jack Eichel is a center from Massachusetts. He played in the USA Hockey development team and then went onto Boston College, where he became a true freshman. Jack was a part of Team USA’s World Juniors Team, where the team came in fifth place. He did play in the World Championships this past April where he and team USA won bronze. . Now he hasn’t exactly chosen whether he’ll go back to Boston next season or play for Buffalo, but he will be announcing that soon.

Dylan Strome is a center from Canada. He played his junior career alongside Connor McDavid for the Erie Otters. He’s won a few awards during his junior career. Dylan is also the younger brother of Ryan Strome who plays for the New York Islanders.

Colorado had the tenth pick and they chose Mikko Rantanen. He’s a right wing from Finland. I’m curious to see how he’ll do in training camp and what he’ll contribute to the team.

The talk of the draft was the Boston Bruins. In the first round, they had three back to back picks. They chose Jakub Zboril a defenseman, Jake DeBrusk a left wing, and Zachary Senyshyn a right wing. While I am not a Boston fan, I was shocked when they traded Milan Lucic to the Kings that took me by surprise. Did it surprise you guys?

Overall the draft was full of trades, picks, and some surprises. Now it’s onto training camp which usually starts in September.

In the next few of hockey posts I make I plan to break down the Colorado Avalanche 2015-2016 season schedule. The Avs have a stadium series game against the Red Wings, I can’t wait! Also, I know I said I was going to reveal the athlete in the ESPN Body Issue before it came out, but I want to wait until the issue comes out (July 6th). I also want to count down my favorite players, but I probably will save some of these until closer to hockey season.

I have some other posts up my sleeve that I’m still planning and getting ready for you guys. YAY! LOL!

I’ll talk to you guys later!

Leave a Reply

