NFL DRAFT 2016 ROUND 1

PICK NAME POSITION COLLEGE NFL TEAM
#1 Jared Goff Quarterback CALIFORNIA L.A. RAMS
#2 Carson Wentz Quarterback North Dakota State Philadelphia Eagles
#3 Joey Bosa Defensive End Ohio State San Diego Chargers
#4 Ezekiel Elliott Running Back Ohio State Dallas Cowboys
#5 Jalen Ramsey Cornerback Florida State Jacksonville Jaguars
#6 Ronnie Stanley Offensive Tackle Notre Dame Baltimore Ravens
#7 DeForest Buckner Defensive End Oregon San Francisco

49ers

#8 Jack Conklin Offensive Tackle Michigan State Tennessee Titans
#9 Leonard Floyd Outside Linebacker Georgia Chicago Bears
#10 Eli Apple Cornerback Ohio State N.Y. Giants
#11 Vernon Hargreaves Cornerback Florida Tampa Bay Buccaneers
#12 Sheldon Rankins Defensive Tackle Louisville New Orleans Saints
#13 Laremy Tunsil Offensive Tackle Ole Miss Miami Dolphins
#14 Karl Joseph Safety West Virginia Oakland Raiders
#15 Corey Coleman Wide Receiver Baylor Cleveland Browns
#16 Taylor Decker Offensive Tackle Ohio State Detroit Lions
#17 Keanu Neal Defensive Back (Safety) Florida Atlanta Falcons
#18 Ryan Kelly Center Alabama Indianapolis Colts
#19 Shaq Lawson Defensive End Clemson Buffalo Bills
#20 Darron Lee Linebacker Ohio State N.Y. Jets
#21 Will Fuller Wide Receiver Notre Dame Houston Texans
#22 Josh Doctson Wide Receiver Texas Christian Washington Redskins
#23 Laquon Treadwell Wide Receiver Ole Miss Minnesota Vikings
#24 William Jackson III Cornerback Houston Cincinnati Bengals
#25 Artie Burns Cornerback Miami (Florida) Pittsburgh Steelers
#26 Paxton Lynch Quarterback Memphis Denver Broncos
#27 Kenny Clark Defensive Tackle UCLA Green Bay Packers
#28 Joshua Garnett Guard Stanford San Francisco 49ers
#30 Robert Nkemdiche Defensive Tackle Ole Miss Arizona Cardinals
#31 Vernon Butler Defensive Tackle Louisiana Tech Carolina Panthers
#32 Germain Ifedi Offensive Tackle Texas A&M Seattle Seahawks

The first day of the NFL Draft wrapped up a few hours ago. As you can see above the first round picks. Before you ask, no I did not skip #29. There was no pick #29. Pick #29 belonged to the New England Patriots, but was forfeited due to Deflategate.

It was an interesting watch. I heard a lot about Laremy Tunsil and the video that was posted on his Twitter page. I do not know the whole situation, all I know is that his Twitter was hacked and someone posted an old video of him smoking out of a bong. It was talked about a lot throughout the night. After he was drafted by Miami, it died down.

I am happy that the Denver Broncos did draft a quarterback, Paxton Lynch. With Peyton retired and Brock now playing with Houston we needed one. (I am not a Mark Sanchez fan). While I am not a Sanchez fan, I am watching him closely. While I heard rumors that he’ll be a back-up quarterback I have also heard that he has improved a lot since going to Denver. I am interested and curious to find out who will be starter, but we are not close to that decision right now.

My favorite part of the night was when the Broncos first round pick was announced. Through the Make-A-Wish foundation, a sixteen-year-old boy from Denver was able to announce the first round pick. He did an amazing job!

I really want to be in a War Room. I do not care which team; I would just love to sit in the War Room with them to see how all of this works in person.

I do plan to tune into the draft later for Round 2 and 3. If you are interested in watching it will be broadcasted on the NFL Network starting at 7PM Eastern Time. It will pick up from pick #32 which belongs to the Cleveland Browns. That could change, you never know teams trade picks when you least expect it.

Usually the draft order (before trades) starts with the team with the worst record in the league and ends with the team that won the Super Bowl. I remember when I watched the draft for the first time when I was younger I was totally confused and overwhelmed with all the trades. I thought it had to go in that specific worst to best order, but it does not. It’s better now that I understand what is going on. LOL.

I want to extend my congratulations to all the players drafted in Round 1. Good luck this season!

Until Next Time!

 

Leave a Reply

