SUMMER OF SPORTS 2016

Hey everyone!

I declare Summer 2016, the summer of sports. I believe this summer is going to be packed with more sports than last year. From Euro 2016 to Rio 2016, this summer has everything from soccer to hockey to basketball.

STANLEY CUP FINALS

The Stanley Cup Finals started on Memorial Day. Pittsburgh won the first game against San Jose. Game Two is tonight at 8PM Eastern Time. If the series should last seven games, the last game will be played on the 15th in Pittsburgh at 8PM Eastern Time. I have this feeling that this series will last between five to seven games. It all depends. I could be wrong. No matter how many games it lasts I still want Pittsburgh to hoist the Cup when it’s all over.

EURO 2016

UEFA Euro 2016 also known as the 2016 Union of European Football Association European Championship. I call it Euro 2016 because it is a lot shorter and still has the same effect. The UEFA European Championship is much like the Olympics, meaning it takes place every four years. European teams who qualified compete in France to be the European Champion. One of the world’s most famous football (soccer) players, Cristiano Ronaldo is playing for his home country of Portugal. I plan to do a post breaking down who is in each group soon. The tournament starts on June 10th and ends on July 10th. Spain is currently the two time defending champion, they won both in 2008 and 2012. I already know who I want to win, but I’ll let you all know that a bit later.

RIO 2016

The 2016 Olympic Games begins on August 5th. It is in Rio De Janeiro, Brazil. A lot of controversy is surrounding this year’s Olympic Games. One of the biggest is the Zika Virus. Athletes from nations all over the world are pulling out from the completion due to the health concern with the virus. Some want the Olympics moved to a new location or even postponed for a year.  There has also been controversy regarding the cleanliness and safety of Rio. I am not sure what to think of all of this. I am a huge fan of the Olympic Games. As the games get closer I do plan to keep an eye on everything that is going on. I will update the blog as the weeks go on and more news comes out.

NBA FINALS

Game 1 of the NBA Finals is tomorrow, June 2nd on ABC. The Golden State Warriors and Cleveland Cavaliers are back at it again. The two teams went against each other last year with Golden State winning it all. I do wish to see Golden State win it again. When both of the teams made it to their respective Conference Finals, I made a joke with people that it was going to be a rematch of last year. Well, I guess my joke turned into reality. LOL.

These are just a few of the many sporting events going on this summer. I plan to focus on these four because they capture the most of my attention. Again, Game 1 of the NBA Finals is tomorrow while Game 2 of the Stanley Cup Finals is tonight.

Let me know what sporting events you are planning to watch.

Until Next Time!

Leave a Reply

