EXO EX’ACT COMEBACK

Alright, Alright, Alright!

Today is a good day. EXO has released their third album EX’ACT along with two music videos for their singles, Lucky One and Monster. I swear I have literally lost my mind. Thanks EXO! LOL.

Seriously, I was really expecting it to be good due to the teasers, but after watching the videos and hearing some of the album it has exceeded my expectations. For this post I decided to break down and review both the Lucky One and Monster videos.

Below are the videos. I do not own them. All credit and ownership goes to S.M. Entertainment and EXO.

LUCKY ONE

I remember when the teaser for Lucky One was dropped. I couldn’t help but tap my fingers to the beat. Now that I have heard the song, I can’t help but dance to it. I feel like Lucky One has a funk mixed with a bit of electronic vibe. My favorite part of the song is Chanyeol and Sehun’s epic rap. These two make the ultimate team. I love the beginning of Sehun’s rap, “You are my lover among countless people, I was lucky to find your four-leaf clover….” (EXO, Lucky One). He was breaking it down.

I will give EXO an A for creativity when it comes to the Lucky One MV. I watched it about three times, I’ll admit I wasn’t focused the first time I was laughing. Every time I see Chanyeol and his red hair in this video all I can think about are all those memes created about him. In the video, almost everyone uses their powers at least once. When I say almost everyone, Kai didn’t (at least I didn’t see him use his powers). I take that back, Kai used the power of dance. Do you thing Kai, no judgements here. On a serious note, I enjoy watching Kai dance. When I watch him dance I can see all the passion he has for it. On another note Lay, our precious unicorn, presented a flower to one of the girl’s and her head blew up.

I do not want to give away too much detail just in case any of you want to watch it. Both the song and video aren’t bad. In fact, I enjoyed them both. I will admit I was a bit confused with the music video, I still am a bit, but I know it’ll make sense to me eventually. It was refreshing to hear EXO again. I missed them.

MONSTER

Okay, I only have one word for Monster, WOW. WOW! WOW! WOW! I literally can’t explain in words how much I love this song. It blew my expectations from the teaser out of the water. I have had Monster on repeat for a while now. Monster is honestly my favorite song off of the album so far. The beat, the lyrics, and the video are all amazing and I love them. Whoever choreographed the video, you deserve an award. The choreography was one of the best I have ever seen.

Monster had a darker feel to it than Lucky One. I feel like Monster was more of a hip-hop and electronic feel. I did listen to the instrumental version (it is on the album), I found myself tapping my fingers and bobbing my head. I enjoyed how it dropped to a smoother sound at 2:17 and then picked up again.

“I’m sorry you make me so crazy…” (EXO, Monster). That’s right EXO you better apologize for making me crazy. LOL. Just kidding it’s okay, I don’t mind. The Monster video was also a lot darker than Lucky One. Honestly, the best part of the video was the choreography. I will admit I am not used to seeing Baekhyun with all that facial jewelry (it is fake) but I did like it. This MV was absolutely perfect. In my opinion, I find this to be EXO’s best MV.

Overall, I believe this is honestly my favorite comeback of EXO. I am working on listening to the rest of the album, but I always seem to come back to Monster. I feel like I was all over the place with this post. I apologize for that, but I am so happy.

If your a K-Pop fan, let me know. What did you think of EXO’s comeback? Which song did you enjoy the most?

Until Next Time!

Leave a Reply

