NHL AWARDS & EXPANSION

Hi everyone!

Wow. That is all I can say about the NHL right now. I feel like there has been so much news surrounding the NHL this week. Between trade rumors, the NHL Awards, and the expansion. Yes, you read that right expansion.

The NHL announced that Las Vegas will have an NHL team which will start to play in the 2017 season. I remember Vegas being considered along with Quebec City. I think it’ll be cool for Vegas to have a professional sports team. I know they have UNLV, but that is college not professional. I have not heard anything about a name, but I have a feeling it would have something to do with Vegas.

Trade rumors. One trade rumor that I have heard lately is about P.K. Subban. No, no, no. Montreal, please do not give up P.K. Subban. Subban is a defenceman for the Montreal Canadiens. I have heard that Edmonton, Vancouver, and Buffalo are interested in him. I hope Montreal keeps him. I feel like he is a great asset to the team.

In other NHL news, on Wednesday night in Las Vegas the NHL Awards took place. Below are the results.

HART MEMORIAL TROPHY – PATRICK KANE, CHICAGO BLACKHAWKS

VENZINA TROPHY – BRADEN HOLTBY, WASHINGTON CAPITALS

JAMES NORRIS MEMORIAL TROPHY – DREW DOUGHTY, L.A. KINGS

CALDER MEMORIAL TROPHY – ARTEMI PANARIN, CHICAGO BLACKHAWKS,  

LADY BYNG MEMORIAL TROPHY – ANZE KOPITAR, L.A. KINGS

FRANK J. SELKE TROPHY – ANZE KOPITAR, L.A. KINGS

JACK ADAMS AWARD – BARRY TROTZ, COACH OF THE WASHINGTON CAPITALS

BILL MASTERTON MEMORIAL TROPHY – JAROMIR JAGR, FLORIDA PANTHERS

TED LINDSAY AWARD – PATRICK KANE, CHICAGO BLACKHAWKS

MARK MESSIER LEADERSHIP AWARD – SHEA WEBER, NASHVILLE PREDATORS

NHL FOUNDATION PLAYER AWARD – MARK GIORDANO, CALGARY FLAMES

GENERAL MANAGER OF THE YEAR – JIM RUTHERFORD, PITTSBURGH PENGUINS

WILLIAM M. JENNINGS TROPHY – FREDERIK ANDERSEN, TORONTO MAPLE LEAFS & JOHN GIBSON, ANAHEIM DUCKS

KING CLANCY MEMORIAL TROPHY – HENRIK SEDIN, VANCOUVER CANUCKS

Patrick Kane won three awards, while Anze Kopitar won two. I almost forgot to mention, Anze Kopitar was named the new captain of the Los Angeles Kings. The captain before him was Dustin Brown. I’m not totally one hundred percent sure on why Brown lost his captaincy, but I’m sure I’ll figure it out eventually.

What do you guys think? Should Kopitar be captain? What have you heard about the trade rumors? Let me know!

Until Next Time!

Leave a Reply

