JOSE FERNANDEZ

For hours I’ve been sitting here. For hours I’ve been wondering what to say. I’ll be honest I really don’t what to say. I decided to just write, whatever comes to my mind and heart. So, here it is.

It’s a sad day in the world of baseball. No, it’s a sad day in the world of sports. I can’t believe I am sitting here writing this. Earlier today, baseball player Jose Fernandez was killed. He was 24. He was supposed to play a game today, but unfortunately, he won’t.

When I found out the news this morning, I was speechless. I thought I was dreaming. I thought this was a cruel hoax. I did not believe that he was truly gone. I have never been so emotional over an athlete’s death before. Yes, I would be sad and reflect back on the memories of that athlete, but with Jose it’s different.

Jose was special.

I wanted to tell the story of how Jose impacted me. Growing up, I wasn’t much into baseball, I still kind of am not. I came across Jose Fernandez on YouTube a couple years ago it was the video of him seeing his grandmother for the first time in years. Just watching and hearing his story made me interested in him. I watched some of his plays from that season and I was mesmerized. I have family in Miami and every time I would go down there in past couple years I would see his name or picture.

Not many people knew I was a fan of Jose Fernandez. Most thought that because I’m not into baseball I must not like anyone. Well, they were wrong. I still don’t know much about baseball, but watching Jose play made me want to learn more and more about it.

He opened my mind to learning more about baseball. For me, I was always football and hockey, but I wanted to know more about him and his pitching style and just the game of baseball.

He was a kind soul. While I didn’t personally know him, watching him play and seeing videos of him I felt like I got to know some of the man behind the world of baseball. He loved his family more than anything. Jose was down to Earth, humble, and genuine. I didn’t have to know him to see these things.

I couldn’t help, but cry while I wrote this post. Thank you, Jose, for opening my mind up to another sport. The sport in which you loved and were amazing at. It was an honor watching you play. I’ll try not to get emotional when I wear my Marlins shirt with your name on it.

My prayers and condolences go out to Jose Fernandez’s family.

Rest In Peace Jose. You will truly be missed.

Leave a Reply

